DEPONS Forums

Full Version: Model initiation blocked
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Good morning,
I'm experiencing issues with opening the model once installed, and it appears access to the folder is blocked by my security settings (either Windows Security or McAfee). In first instance, the download was marked as unsafe, but ignoring the warning, there were no issues with the actual installation. However, when subsequently trying to launch the model, there is a brief flash on the bottom taskbar, and the execution is closed immediately. I tried installation of Versions 2.1 and 2.1.1. Whilst there are various online posts on how to allow access to blocked folders, several did not work or options were not selectable, and I was hesitant to try some of the other options. As this may be an issue also relevant to other users, more directed suggestions of how to best address this would be much appreciated. 
Many thanks,
Nienke
Hi Nienke,

In which folder did you install the model? The installer will suggest the users home directory (e.g. c:\Users\Jonas\DEPONS) as default installation directory. Due to the way the model works (Repast Simphony) write-access to the installation directory is required. Due to this, installation into e.g. "Program Files" is known to cause issues.

Does the main application window remain open, or is it also closed? Are there any messages or dialogs, which provide any additional information or hints?
(22-01-2021, 12:41)jonasa Wrote: [ -> ]Hi Nienke,

In which folder did you install the model? The installer will suggest the users home directory (e.g. c:\Users\Jonas\DEPONS) as default installation directory. Due to the way the model works (Repast Simphony) write-access to the installation directory is required. Due to this, installation into e.g. "Program Files" is known to cause issues.

Does the main application window remain open, or is it also closed? Are there any messages or dialogs, which provide any additional information or hints?

Apologies for the late reply. I did indeed install it in the folder c:\users\Nienke\DEPONS and neither opening directly, or specifically using 'run as administrator' works. 
The main application window does not appear, and unfortunately no other error message shows up. All this is visible is a brief flash in the taskbar indicating it is trying to do something.
Oddly enough, when I scan the installation folder in McAfee, all is fine, but when scanning the short-cut folder it states: "Issues found".

Thanks,
Nienke
Before continuing to troubleshoot folder access issues, please verify that the Java runtime environment is installed and working. The model has been developed and tested against Java 8. Later versions should work as well (but haven't been subjected to the same level of testing).

This can be done by opening a "Command Prompt" and executing "java -fullversion".

If you get a response similar to "'java' is not recognized as an internal or external command", then please see the installation instructions (https://depons.eu/installation/) for a reference to install Java.
(01-02-2021, 13:01)jonasa Wrote: [ -> ]Before continuing to troubleshoot folder access issues, please verify that the Java runtime environment is installed and working. The model has been developed and tested against Java 8. Later versions should work as well (but haven't been subjected to the same level of testing).

This can be done by opening a "Command Prompt" and executing "java -fullversion".

If you get a response similar to "'java' is not recognized as an internal or external command", then please see the installation instructions (https://depons.eu/installation/) for a reference to install Java.

Java (Runtime environment; 32 bit) was indeed installed (java full version "1.8.0_271-b09". I updated this to the most recent update (281), and installed the 64 bit version too. Neither of these changes made a difference; I'm still unable to launch the model.
Thanks,
Nienke
Ok. In order to better capture any error messages, please edit the startup script. This is the file c:\users\Nienke\DEPONS\start_model.bat.

The last line begins with

Code:
START javaw -Xss10M .....

Change this to

Code:
java -Xss10M .....

By removing the "START" the output will be kept in the same window and by changing javaw to java the output will not be hidden.

After saving the changes, open a command-line and change directory to c:\users\Nienke\DEPONS\. When you now run start_model.bat, the console should contain some output, which can assist further analysis.
(04-02-2021, 12:48)jonasa Wrote: [ -> ]Ok. In order to better capture any error messages, please edit the startup script. This is the file c:\users\Nienke\DEPONS\start_model.bat.

The last line begins with

Code:
START javaw -Xss10M .....

Change this to

Code:
java -Xss10M .....

By removing the "START" the output will be kept in the same window and by changing javaw to java the output will not be hidden.

After saving the changes, open a command-line and change directory to c:\users\Nienke\DEPONS\. When you now run start_model.bat, the console should contain some output, which can assist further analysis.

Brilliant, thank you very much! 
This change did the trick, and the 'Model - Repast Simphony' screen appeared. No problems initiating the simulation.

Thanks very much again, and looking forward to seeing the modelled outputs.

All the best,
Nienke